Our Ecological Youth Hostel in Tarabuco

In the year 2008, the organization Centro Ecológica Juvenil (CEJ) opened a second ecological center and a youth hostel, in the town of Tarabuco, also at 3200 m, 13,500’.altitude. The organization CEJ plans a variety of activities together with local communities. The goal is to improve the climate and to create a similar “forest paradise” in this region as was accomplished through reforestation in the Cajamarca Valley. In addition, workshops for tailoring and knitting which last several weeks are offered at the youth hostel, mostly for young adults. There are open-door weekly activities such as crafts, reading and sports geared to children and youth.

The Youth Hostel Tarabuco opened in 2008, 65 km (40 miles) to the east of Sucre. The Hostel is currently very successfully managed by Alberto Tapia and Marlene Yucra. The forester and technician Alberto Tapia runs the hostel and guides foreign volunteers, both young and old, who come and work up to a year with social projects going on in and around Tarabuco.

International Cooperation

With the support of Youth Hosteling International, Bolivia for some years we have been able to host the young German volunteers who come through “weltwärts,” (worldward bound), alternate civil service, and IJFD. These young people stay in the two CEJ centers and work with social projects. There are two to four volunteers assisting in the morning at the school. Some also work with the Tarabuco Department of Tourism or at the local hospital. They are also involved in the above mentioned open-door youth activities.

Studies in Nutritional Science

The emphasis in these courses is on healthy nutrition that is sustainable, tastes good, and is environmentally friendly. The curriculum includes many concrete and realistic examples with suggestions for participants on how to motivate others towards healthy eating habits. These courses last three months and are conducted by a trained and experienced Bolivian nutritionist and cook in cooperation with our organisation. Trainees themselves harvest the vegetables for these courses in our gardens and green houses.

Unsere ökologische Jugendherberge in Tarabuco

 

DSCI0032Internationale Jugendherberge

Im Jahr 2008 richtete der Verein Centro Ecológico Juvenil (CEJ) ein zweites ökologisches Zentrum mit Jugendherberge in Tarabuco ein. Tarabuco liegt wie Cajamarca auf 3200 m ü.M. Der Verein CEJ bietet verschiedenen Aktivitäten an, u.a. plant er gemeinsam mit der kommunalen Gemeinde Aufforstungen in der Region mit dem Ziel der Klimaverbesserung und Schaffung eines „Waldparadieses“ wie im Cajamarca-Hochtal. Außerdem können Interessierte, meist junge Erwachsene, an den mehrwöchigen Schneider- und Strickkursen teilnehmen, die in den Räumen der Jugendherberge in Tarabuco angeboten werden. Für Kinder und Jugendliche werden wöchentlich offene Angebote wie Basteln, Werken, Lesen und Sport durchgeführt.

cejtarabuco_hostel1Seit 2008 besteht die Jugendherberge in Tarabuco (65 km östlich von Sucre). Zurzeit wird das Zentrum von den Herbergseltern Alberto Tapia und Marlene Yucra erfolgreich geleitet.
Der Forstwirt und Techniker Alberto Tapia leitet das Hostel mit 18 Betten, betreut die ausländischen Freiwilligen, junge und ältere Menschen, die bis zu einem Jahr bei sozialen Projekten in und um Tarabuco mitarbeiten.

2015-03-13 09.25.28Internationale Kooperation

Seit einigen Jahren können wir mit Unterstützung des bolivianischen Jugendherbergsverbandes junge deutsche Freiwillige (weltwärts/  IJFD) in den beiden Zentren des CEJ aufnehmen. Sie arbeiten als Assistenten in sozialen Projekten. Im Jugendzentrum Tarabuco sind zwei bis vier Freiwillige vormittags als Schul-Assistenten eingesetzt. Einige Freiwillige arbeiten auch in der Tourismusabteilung der Gemeindeverwaltung oder im Krankenhaus mit. Außerdem werden die oben beschriebenen offenen Jugendaktivitäten angeboten.

34

Ausbildung zum Ernährungsexperten

In diesen Kursen liegt der Schwerpunkt in nachhaltiger Ernährung die gut schmeckt, gesund ist und die Umwelt schont. Die Lerninhalte beinhalten viele konkrete, leicht umsetzbare Beispiele. Es werden Anregungen gegeben, wie die TeilnehmerInnen andere zu einer gesunden Ernährungsweise motivieren können. Die Kurse dauern jeweils drei Monate und werden von einer ausgebildeten und erfahrenen bolivianischen Gesundheitstrainerin und Köchin in Kooperation mit unserem Verein durchgeführt. Das Gemüse für diese Kurse ernten die Auszubildenden direkt in unseren Gärten und Gewächshäusern.